Paycom Jim Thorpe Award WatchList  

Paycom is thrilled to announce that the Mountain West Football Conference has once again demonstrated its exceptional talent and prowess on the field, as four outstanding athletes have been named to the prestigious Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Watch List. This recognition highlights the exceptional skill, dedication, and hard work exhibited by these remarkable players, further solidifying the Mountain West’s reputation as a breeding ground for top-tier football talent.

The recently released article from August 14, 2023, on MWWire ( details the impressive feat achieved by these remarkable athletes. Their inclusion on the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Watch List is a testament to their outstanding defensive abilities and their contributions to their respective teams.

As we eagerly await the unveiling of the finalists and ultimate winner of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to the four Mountain West Football Conference players who have made their mark on the field and earned a spot on this esteemed watch list. We will be eagerly following their performances throughout the season and cheering them on as they continue to showcase their skills and make the conference proud.

Stay tuned for further updates as we celebrate the accomplishments of these remarkable athletes and the Mountain West Football Conference as a whole. Let’s continue to support and honor their dedication to the game of football! 🏈🎉

What is the Jim Thorpe Award?

The Jim Thorpe Award is named after the legendary athlete and Olympic gold medalist, Jim Thorpe. An Oklahoma native, Jim was the first Native American to win a gold medal for the United States in the Olympics. He won the pentathlon and decathlon in the 1912 Olympic Games.

The award was first presented in 1986. Former Oklahoma City talk show host, Ed Sossen, along with W. Lynne Draper, former Jim Thorpe Association (now Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame) Executive Director devised the award to shed a positive light on Oklahoma and promote it nationally. In May of 2017, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Paycom, a leading provider of comprehensive, cloud-based human capital management software, announced an exclusive sponsorship, resulting in naming this athletics award, the “Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.”

Recognized as one of the nation’s top collegiate sports honors, The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is presented to individual athletes based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. 

How are the Winners Determined?

During the preseason, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame creates a list of players to watch for during the season based on their previous performance and preseason All-American lists. Then, they narrow down the list around mid-season, and at the end of November, they select the finalists. Next, a national panel of 250-plus Hall of Fame members, sportscasters, writers, and former players and coaches vote to determine who wins the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.

During the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN, the winner is announced, alongside other prestigious NCFAA awards, such as the Bednarik Award, Lombardi Award, and Butkus Award. Following the show, the winner is officially presented with the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award in Oklahoma City. Current and former winners return each year to celebrate the incredible honor. The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Banquet has over 600 attended, including celebrities and dignitaries. 

You may also like...